“My name is Kary, and I am addicted to planners.”

I have a confession to make.  I am absolutely and completely addicted to organization.  I didn’t say that I am organized.  I am obsessed with the whole IDEA of being organized.  I love the feeling I get when I have a new plan. I would seriously love to have just half of the money back that I have spent on planners, calendars, binders, baskets, plastic containers… My husband thinks my need for lists is hysterical.

Pinterest and all of the blogs that I follow in my RSS reader could send me into a downward spiral, but I do believe that I have finally found what works for me.  I have pulled the parts that I like from all of the systems I have tried.

1. I have a planner from Erin Condren  that I love, and use the Franklin Covey methods I learned in the 90’s in it.

2. I use the Getting Things Done method of contexts to manage my tasks, as described in this post by  43 Folders.

3. I use a time management printable from i heart organizing to make a permanent weekly schedule I can consult as the framework for my week.

4.  I have a Flylady control journal I use for my cleaning schedule with her zones, but I prefer the way that Time-Warp Wife  breaks her cleaning up daily to the true Flylady method.

5. I use a kitchen command center to store my control journal and the next action files (Getting Things Done again) I need easy access to based on a bowl full of lemons.

6. I use Southern Savers for all of my couponing, and use the whole insert method with a cancelled check file.

7. I have started compiling a family recipe book of our family favorites with a holiday section for our traditions.

8.  I have a binder I have started to organize for our “new” house.

And the “working on” and “would like to” lists go on and on and on…

I am going to be posting all of my organizing projects here on my blog each Tuesday for all to see!

 

Kary

 

*Sometimes I link up at these parties…

 

Bowl Full of LemonsBetween Naps on the PorchThe ColoradoladyCommon GroundFive Days Five WaysFunky Junk InteriorsHome Stories A-ZHow to Nest for LessHouse of HepworthsMy Romantic HomeNot Just a Housewife, Organize & Decorate EverythingPositively SplendidSomeday CraftsSkip to my LouShabby Creek CottageSix Sisters StuffSerenity NowToday’s Creative Blog, Thrifty Décor Chickthe 36th AvenueTatertots & Jello, Ivy and Elephants

Leave a Reply

