Low Carb Key Lime Mousse

20140226-073125.jpg
As of yesterday, I had no idea what today’s post was going to be. Then my friend Mary asked me to do a low carb dessert.

It is so hard to eat dessert on a low carb diet. There is always cheesecake, or dark chocolate. I eat enough Jello with whipped cream that I think Jello should start giving me some sort of reward points. I wanted something different!

20140225-183440.jpg
My son, Cooper, has been begging me for a month to make him shrimp scampi, and I decided this would be the night. Yes, you can eat shrimp scampi on a low carb diet, just not the pasta part. When I started thinking about a dessert to go with it, the thing that I always think goes best with any kind of seafood is Key Lime Pie.

This one is for you, Mary! I sure hope you like lime, I couldn’t remember.

The only ingredients in this dessert are sugar free lime Jello (zero carbs), cream cheese (1 carb) vanilla, Splenda, and Cool Whip (2 carbs). I added some graham cracker crumbs, whipped cream and a strawberry to make it look pretty for the picture. There are minimal carbs in the other ingredients, but all in all, it is about 3 grams of carbs per serving. A strawberry has one carb!

I was reminded of how important it is to look at labels when I was getting my Cool Whip. I would have thought that sugar free Cool Whip would have less carbs than regular, but it actually has 3g of carbs per serving, and the regular has 2g! If you want to make this have even less carbs, take a pint of heavy whipping cream, whip it, and substitute it for the Cool Whip.

I started out by letting my cream cheese soften, and my Cool Whip thaw.

I added one small box of sugar free lime Jello to a bowl, and I added one cup of boiling water, stirred it up, and set it in the fridge to start setting.

20140225-181145.jpg
I creamed the cream cheese, Splenda and vanilla.

20140225-181336.jpg
I added the partially set jello, and mixed until smooth. Then I added the Cool Whip.

20140225-181425.jpg
I left mine in the bowl and put it in the fridge for about four hours. I put it in individual serving cups (actually, vintage Big Top Peanut Butter sherbet glasses). You could put this in a pie plate, and slice it like pie. You could even make a low carb crust with ground pecans and butter. I just prefer mine like this!

20140225-182808.jpg
Click here for a link to a printable version of this recipe…

LOW CARB KEY LIME MOUSSE
http://www.onedollarcottage.com

1 box lime sugar free Jello
1 cup boiling water
16 oz. cream cheese
1 cup granular Splenda
2 tsp. vanilla
8 oz. Cool Whip

Soften cream cheese and let Cool Whip thaw.

Dissolve jello in boiling water. Set in fridge to start setting up.

Cream cream cheese with Splenda and vanilla.

Add jello, mix well until smooth.

Add Cool Whip, mix until smooth.

Leave in a bowl, or pour into pie plate or prepared crust.

Chill at least 4 hours.

Enjoy!
Kary

Leave a Reply

