What’s in my Car?

Car.JPG
This year I am doing a weekly series every Monday on organizing. There is a great book that I found on Amazon, organize now, by Jennifer Ford Berry. The thing I really love about this book is that it is broken up in to weeks. There is a project for every week of the year, plus a few more. I am doing all of the weekly challenges this year, but I am changing the order up a bit.

20140112-231345.jpg

This is what we have done so far this year…
ORGANIZE YOURSELF
Week One: Mind and Life Vision
Week Two: Priorities
Week Three: Schedule
Week Four: Cleaning Schedules

ORGANIZE YOUR ROUTINES
Week Five: Daily Routines
Week Six: Weekly Plan
Week Seven: Meal Planning
Week Eight: Grocery Shopping

ORGANIZE YOUR STUFF:
Week Nine:
What’s in my Purse?
What’s in my Tote Bag?

Any printables from the Organize Now series are available here

I have made monthly calendars of my projects, available here

I am so crazy that I have all of my bag contents in printable form! I have them laminated so that I can take them along with me when I travel, and can also use them to check inventories and see what I need to replace.

I am a mom. I am an antiques dealer. I am a blogger. We are restoring an 1880 Queen Anne Victorian house. My sons play Little League and travel baseball pretty much year round. One of my sons is a cellist. We pull trailers and boats, and haul gear and junk from the flea market. My poor Suburban gets a lot of use, in a lot of different ways. This is what works for me! Most of the time, anyway!

Here is what I keep in the back of my SUV.

1.  BLANKET BAG

I always keep a couple of blankets and a picnic tablecloth in a tote.

2. COOLER
I am diabetic, and cheap. I like to keep water in the car for when the boys just have to pull over so we can buy a few $2 Gatorades, and I keep healthy snacks to keep my blood sugar steady.

Ice sheets
Dog bottle
Ice packs
Frogg Togg towels
Washcloths
Spray bottle
Water
Gatorade

3. SNACK BAG

Dasani drops
Lara Bars
Dark chocolate
Seeds
Nuts
Jerky
Slim Jims
Pork rinds
Pickles

I also keep these things back there. I always seem to be needing my chairs, and I use the wagon at the flea market, and at games and practice.

4. Propane heater

5. Folding chairs

6. Sports-Brella

7. Wagon

8. CAR BAG
I also keep some things for human and dog emergencies in a Thirty-One Utility Tote in the back. Boredom counts as an emergency, hence the sporting equipment.
Jumper cables
Bungie cords
Flashlight
Paper towel
Extra propane for my portable heater
Umbrellas
Towel
Football
Baseball gloves
Baseball
Reusable shopping bags
Trash bags

DOG POUCH
We have two huge, over 100 lb. dogs, and they go along with us a lot, so I keep some supplies for them. I also keep a special water bottle for them in my cooler.
Tennis ball
Poop bags
Cable tie out
Leashes
Extra collar

FIRST AID KIT
Alcohol wipes
Neosporin
Rapid Rhino
Bandaids
Gauze pads
Tape
Trauma shears
Finger splint
Ice bags
Q-tips
Penlight
Tweezers
Arm sling
Splint
Ace bandage
Elastic bandage
CPR shield
Non-latex gloves
Tylenol cream
Benadryl spray
Dermaplast
Benadryl
Ibuprofen
Cough drops
Immodium
Tums
Blood glucose meter
Glucose tablets
Epi-pen
Albuterol

SUNSCREEN POUCH
SPF 50
SPF 30
SPF 15
Bug spray
Face sunscreen

TOOL POUCH
Like I said, we are restoring an old house, and this stuff comes in handy. I also sometimes need tools when I am junking or taking things to my antiques booth.
Hammer
Pliers
Screwdriver’s
Tape measure
Work gloves

UTILITY POUCH
Bungee cords
Hand sanitizer
Leatherman
Swiss Army knife
Sharpie
Lighter

WEATHER POUCH
Ponchos
Hot hands
Fan
Mini umbrella

So now we are on to the front of the car.

I know, I need a carwash.

So in the middle console, cup holder area of my car I always have:
Gum
Hand sanitizer
Hand cream
Sunglasses
Air freshener
Cup with change
Charger
FM transmitter

In my glove box I have:
Notebook
Pen
Registration
Insurance
Manual
Ice scraper
Tire kit

In the center console I have two pouches, one for electronics and one for personal care items. The Polly Pocket is a family mascot. The boys and my husband used to hide it in each others school lunches, pockets, wherever they could embarrass each other.
Phone charger
FM transmitter
Scissors
Pens, Sharpie
Brush
Chapstick
Eye drops
Nail clippers
Wisps

Behind the front seat in the pouches I keep:
Wet Wipes
Trash bags in Wet Wipes container
Kleenex
Napkins
Straws

I also have these great hooks to hand trash bags from in each row…

In the very back row I have a string bag that contains a DVD holder with movies, headphones for the DVD player, and extra batteries.

That was embarrassing, but  later this week  will be even worse when I show how I pack for a baseball tournament.

 

Kary

Leave a Reply

