Baseball Mom Organization

20140303-200148.jpg

This year I am doing a weekly series every Monday on organizing. There is a great book that I found on Amazon, organize now, by Jennifer Ford Berry. The thing I really love about this book is that it is broken up in to weeks. There is a project for every week of the year, plus a few more. I am doing all of the weekly challenges this year, but I am changing the order up a bit.

20140112-231345.jpg

This is what we have done so far this year…
ORGANIZE YOURSELF
Week One: Mind and Life Vision
Week Two: Priorities
Week Three: Schedule
Week Four: Cleaning Schedules

ORGANIZE YOUR ROUTINES
Week Five: Daily Routines
Week Six: Weekly Plan
Week Seven: Meal Planning
Week Eight: Grocery Shopping

ORGANIZE YOUR STUFF:
Week Nine:
What’s in my Purse?
What’s in my Tote Bag?
Week Ten: What’s in my Car?

Any printables from the Organize Now series are available here

I have made monthly calendars of my projects, available here

I am so crazy that I have all of my bag contents in printable form! I have them laminated so that I can take them along with me when I travel, and can also use them to check inventories and see what I need to replace.

20140303-210757.jpg

So some of you are going to think that this post is absolutely insane. There are some parents who don’t have kids in sports who will still understand, whose kids are involved in activities that take up huge chunks of time away from home. Otherwise, yes, this will seem excessive.

My 15 year old son is a cellist, and has played soccer, little league baseball, travel baseball, basketball, football, golf, and lacrosse. My 12 year old son has played soccer, little league baseball, travel baseball, basketball, football and lacrosse. Most of these activities have involved one game at a time, a few hours at the most. Not so when you are playing travel ball. Then it becomes an all weekend thing. When my 15 year old started playing travel baseball when he was 7, my life changed. And the contents of my vehicle changed. I learned gradually. When you are away all day, especially when you have other kids, you learn to be prepared.

You never know what the facilities will be like. You never know if there will be decent food, or more importantly, decent restrooms. I started just keeping my “mom bag” in the car at all times. It has come in handy at practices, games, and in a lot of other situations. I know that I may be just a tad bit over prepared, but I am a little crazy that way!

20140303-202812.jpg
Yesterday I posted about my basic car organization. In my car at all times I keep:
BLANKET BAG
CAR BAG
COOLER
PICNIC BAG
Propane heater
Folding chairs
Wagon
Reusable shopping bags

20140303-202947.jpg

Now we are moving on to how I pack my car for a baseball tournament. We have our first one this weekend, and I am ready! Here is my car packing list.
BASEBALL BAG
BLANKET BAG
CAMERA BAG
CAR BAG
COOLER
PICNIC BAG
PLAYER BAGS
THERMOS TOTE
Wagon
Chairs
Propane heater
Camp table
E Z Up canopy
Sports -Brella

My player is in charge of his own baseball bag, but I do make spot checks from time to time, mostly to make sure they get rid of old Gatorades, sunflower seeds and gum.
PLAYER’S BASEBALL BAG
Cleats
Bats
Batting gloves
Glove
Batting helmet
Towel
Extra ball
Eye black
Sunglasses
Gum and seeds

Catcher’s mask
Cather’s mitt
Chest protector
Leg guards

The first things I add for game/practice days are the big items that I take in to the games with me. I have some things that I take if we are having a picnic between games. These things include:

20140303-203449.jpg
E-Z Up canopy

20140303-203522.jpg
Folding camp table

20140303-204200.jpg
Picnic backpack

If the weather is rainy or really sunny I have:

20140303-203623.jpg
Sport-Brella
For Christmas my husband gave me a Sport-Brella. This thing looks like a large beach umbrella, and can work that way, but you can also turn it on it’s side and stake it down, and it has flaps that come down on the sides. It will be great in rain, sun, or in the cold. The major plus for this thing is that it is lightweight and way easy to lug around than my E-Z up.
Towel to wipe off wet stuff

If it is really cold I have:
A portable propane heater

20140303-204113.jpg
Blankets

I don’t always need all of that. Most of the time I just take in:
Folding chairs
My baseball bag
My personal purse/tote
Cooler
Snack bag

20140303-204320.jpg
A folding wagon to haul it all in

This is my “baseball bag”. I keep it in the back of the car at all times. I have had many versions of this bag. You can be as fancy or as simple as you want. I have used totes, backpacks, Ziploc bags…it really doesn’t matter.

20140303-204411.jpg
BASEBALL BAG
Wet Ones
Trash bags (in a Wet Ones container)

20140303-204707.jpg
BASEBALL EXTRAS POUCH
Extra cup
Pitch counter
Eye black
Extra throat guard
Extra cod piece
Extra parts for catcher leg guards, knee savers, helmet
Sharpie
Extra numbers

20140303-204752.jpg
WEATHER POUCH
Ponchos
Hot hands
Fan
Mini umbrella

20140303-204857.jpg

20140303-204920.jpg
FIRST AID KIT
Alcohol wipes
Neosporin
Rapid Rhino
Bandaids
Gauze pads
Tape
Trauma shears
Finger splint
Ice bags
Q-tips
Penlight
Tweezers
Arm sling
Splint
Ace bandage
Elastic bandage
CPR shield
Non-latex gloves
Tylenol cream
Benadryl spray
Dermaplast
Benadryl
Ibuprofen
Cough drops
Immodium
Tums
Blood glucose meter
Glucose tablets
Epi-pen
Albuterol

20140303-205039.jpg
SUNGLASSES POUCH
Extra sunglasses

20140303-205128.jpg
DOG POUCH
Tennis ball
Poop bags
Cable tie out
Leashes
Extra collar

20140303-205216.jpg
SUNSCREEN POUCH
SPF 50
SPF 30
SPF 15
Bug spray
Face sunscreen

20140303-205259.jpg
UTILITY POUCH
Bungee cords (to tie my canopy down to a fence, or hold things in my wagon)
Hand sanitizer
Leatherman
Swiss Army knife
Sharpie
Lighter

BLANKET BAG
Picnic tablecloth
Sweatshirt blanket
Stadium blanket

20140303-205601.jpg
CAMERA BAG (one of my anniversary gifts, it is a Jo Totes…isn’t it gorgeous?)
Large camera
Lenses
CAMERA POUCH
Extra batteries
Mini tripod
Lens cleaner
Extra memory card
USB cable

20140303-205748.jpg
COOLER
Ice sheets
Dog bottle
Ice packs
Frogg Togg towels
Washcloths
Spray bottle
Water
Gatorade

20140303-205836.jpg
PICNIC BAG
Dasani drops
Lara Bars
Dark chocolate
Seeds
Nuts
Jerky
Slim Jims
Pork rinds
Olives
Pickles
Veggies
Fruit
Boiled eggs
Cheese
Deli turkey/ham/roast beef
Cold Shrimp

20140303-205957.jpg

THERMOS TOTE
For coffee to wake me up or hot tea to keep me warm…I adore my 1960’s vintage Winchester thermoses in their own tote!

A know that is a whole Suburban full of crazy, but if you need a safety pin, you know who to ask!

Kary

Leave a Reply

